Next edition: Tuesday 29 November 2022

Eligible organisations

The  Awards for Best Belgian Sustainability Reports 2020
  • Every organization that issues a sustainability report on its activities in Belgium and beyond – regardless of the size of the organization or its industry – can participate in the Awards. 
  • The report has to communicate on the activities of a Belgian legal entity or on the Belgian activities of a foreign entity. 
  • To be eligible, the report on the Belgian activities of a foreign entity must set clear sustainability objectives and provide sufficient information on the basis of certain selected criteria (targets, results etc.) for Belgium. 
  • The organization has to report on its economic, social and environmental activities and performance.
  • The 2020 edition promotes sustainability reports relating to the year 2019 or - when not available - the most recent sustainability report (for a year prior to 2019) provided that it has been published in 2019 or 2020 and has not been submitted for previous editions of these Awards.

Reporting may rely on national frameworks, Union-based frameworks or international frameworks. All organizations that are reporting non-financial information based on such frameworks are eligible for the Awards.

Nevertheless, for organizational purposes and for the reasons described in the evaluation criteria (see below), participants will be evaluated on criteria based on the internationally recognized Global Reporting Initiatives Standards (GRI).

Three categories of organizations in 2020

1. Large organizations: organizations exceeding two of the three following criteria(1):

  • Net turnover: EUR 35 million,
  • Balance sheet total: EUR 17.5 million, and
  • Average number of employees (full-time): 1000

unless the entities have more than 1000 employees in which case they will by default be categorized as “large organizations”. Public interest entities and quoted companies will be by default considered as “large organizations”.

(1) Important remark: As decided by the Jury during its first meeting on 26 October 2020 in order to have a category SME with sufficient participants (at least 6), these criteria was slightly modify to only take into account for Large organizations the entities that have more than 1000 full time equivalent employees, public interest entities and quoted companies being by default considered as “large organizations”. 

2. Small and medium-sized entreprises (SMEs): organizations between 50 and 1000 full-time employees (FTE).

3. Other organizations:

  • Small-sized companies: companies smaller than 50 FTE;
  • NGOs, not-for-profit organisations (ASBL/VZW), international not-for-profit organisations (AISBL/IVZW) or foundations, which are based in Belgium and operate in or outside the Belgian territory;
  • Schools, federations, public sector, etc.
    Two categories of Prizes in 2020

    There are two categories of prizes: one that will be awarded by the public vote for each of the three organizations' categories, and another one, which consists in four specific prizes awarded by the Jury. 

    •  The“Best impact Sustainability Report” in each organizations' category: the Jury will short-list two nominees by category, focusing on the impact of the reports (quantified KPI’s, comparison with peers, comparison over the years,…) . Pre-selected candidates will be given the opportunity to present themselves on the day of the ceremony and to communicate on their social and environmental transition. The winners will then be designated by a public vote.

    Additionally, four specific cross-categories Awards will be given by the Jury, with a special focus on specific criteria: 

    •  The “Best 1st Sustainability Report”;
    •  Report with “Best Pioneering SDG 2030 Agenda”;
    •  Report with “Best Stakeholders Inclusiveness and Engagement”; and
    •  Report with “Best Creativity & Originality”.

    Therefore, 7 organizations will be offered the chance to win an Award. 

    Evaluation Criteria 2020

    The evaluation criteria are based on the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) Standards, for organizational purposes and for reasons explained in the criteria themselves. The criteria also includes the Sustainable Development Goals adopted by the United Nations and integrates requirements of law of 3 September 2017 on non-financial information disclosure in the evaluation of large organizations.

    The evaluation criteria are described in the Code of participation (available here). The Jury members also receive additional guidance (available here) on how to assess the various criteria. This additional guidance is provided for illustrative purposes and is not mandatory.

    SDG Compass which provides guidance for companies on how they can align their strategies as well as measure and manage their contribution to the realization of the SDG, has developped an Inventory of Business Indicators which might help. This inventory maps existing business indicators against the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). It allows you to explore commonly used indicators and other relevant indicators that may be useful when measuring and reporting your organization’s contribution to the SDGs.

     Linking the SDGs and the GRI Standards (March 2020) is also available to assist companies to report on progress in support of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through the GRI Standards. It covers the 17 SDGs and maps them against the Standards and disclosures that apply for each. This makes it easier for organizations to use their reporting through the GRI Standards to assess how they impact the SDGs.